Multiple Intelligences (Howard Gardner)

According to Howard Gardner’s Multiple Intelligence theory, there are eight basic types of intelligence:

  • Spatial
  • Linguistic
  • Logical-mathematical
  • Kinesthetic
  • Musical
  • Interpersonal
  • Intrapersonal
  • Naturalist

The principle is that children are not equally strong in each of these intelligence areas, often exhibiting particular strengths in one or two areas. It is argued that using a variety of teaching approaches and activities can be more inclusive of the different strengths of learners.

Many of the activities that children undertake during a museum or gallerry education session will suit those with different strengths in intelligence. Here’s a checklist to support thinking about what activities might work well for different learners.